Beauty · Wellness + Lifestyle

Cold & Flu Emergency Kit ft Thursday Plantation

Still being quite new to the aromatherapy, I got very excited when I was approached by the EGPR agency and offered to put the Cold & Flu Emergency Kit from Thursday Plantation to the test.

img_20170124_123246_865

I believe a lot of us are aware of amazing benefits and results essential oils deliver. It’s quite mind blowing to learn all the never-ending ways of using them.

Aromatherapy is a type of alternative medicine that uses essential oils and other aromatic plant compounds which are aimed at improving a person’s health or mood. It is believed that the inhalation of essential oils stimulates the part of the brain connected to smell – the olfactory system; a signal is sent to the limbic system of the brain that controls emotions and retrieves learned memories. This causes chemicals to be released which make the person feel relaxed, calm, or even stimulated. /source/

As I mentioned above, there are so many way to use the essential oils and choosing the right one, you can use them to help with:

  • Anxiety
  • Stress
  • Insomnia
  • Muscular aches
  • Body aches
  • Headaches
  • Circulation problems
  • Digestive problems
  • Menstrual problems etc.

img_20170130_221313_261

The beautiful Thursday Plantations kit I received, contained 3 very well knows oils:

  • Lavender oil – commonly used as an antiseptic for minor cuts and burns. It also helps to relieve headache and migraine symptoms and help people relax and even fight insomnia.
  • Tea tree oil – have antimicrobial, antiseptic and disinfectant qualities.
  • Eucalyptus – often used for relief of the airways for people who have a cold or the flu.

img_20170126_130750_336

I have always been a huge Lavender fan. I’ve been using the oil every day. For myself and my kids. I find it to really work miracles on me. Stay at home parent role for 2 young children might get challenging and Lavender scent in the air, seems to calm my nerves. I add few drops in the diffuser, put some on my temples and wrists, and most of the nights, add it to my bath or shower – recipe for an absolute zen. You can also add few drops on your pillow for better sleep.

My daughter calls it a “sweet dreams oil”, she asks it to be added to her bath and lotion. I love that she loves the scent and it seems to help her to calm down in the end of the day, after being a hyperactive toddler.

Lavender oil can also help to fight mosquitoes or even lice! Universal magic oil!

20170207_132127.jpg

Tea tree oil was the one I was least familiar with. I was surprised how many amazing benefits it has and how many different ways of using it is there.

It can be used to get rid of inflammation and fight off the infection when struggling with sore throat (add a drop of oil in the glass of warm water and gargle- DON’T swallow). I get that few times a year, will definitely try  Tea Tree oil next time it happens.

It works great to heal the aching body. Just add 10 drops to your bath, along with some epsom salts and it will help with cold/flu related aches and pains. I also added couple drops of Eucalyptus oil – it was a very healing bath.

Tea tree oil apparently helps to heal the cold sores. I get those at least couple of times a year, so I’m excited to try it myself. All you have to do is to apply the oil directly on the cold sore 3-4 times a day.

20170207_132211

Eucalyptus oil is very addictive, it explains Koalas love for it very well. I don’t think I know anyone that wouldn’t be familiar with this, magical oil, it’s scent and how beneficial it is during the cold and flu season.

Since receiving the Thursday Plantations kit, I’ve been running my diffuser with combination of Eucalyptus and Lavender oil non stop, for prophylactic reasons, for easier breathing, cleaner air and ambiance. I still need to make my disinfectant spray (just add 10-30 drops to the water and voila!).

There might be other factors involved too, but since using and combining oils in my and my families everyday routine, we haven’t even gotten the cold, which is amazing in the house hold with two small (read germ magnets) children.

Once again, thank you EGPR and Thursday Plantations for introducing me and my family with these amazing oils and their benefits.

img_20170130_221200_061

All of the Thursday Plantation oils in this kit are 100% pure and natural and can be purchased at Walmart, Rexall, Whole Foods Market, Well.ca and many more (for full retailer list click here).

Click here to find out more uses for these incredible miracle worker oils. Also, follow the #TPWINTERRESCUE on the social media, to see all the other thought and ways to use the oils.

Let me know, what’s your favorite essential oil and share your ways of using them.

*Samples were provided, but opinions are all mine.

– STAY BEAUTIFUL –

 

19 thoughts on “Cold & Flu Emergency Kit ft Thursday Plantation

      1. Too late, I already drank a full glass of tea tree oil. Thanks a LOT Grieta, I think I’ve built immunity for the next 3 years! πŸ˜„ I kid, I kid! πŸ˜‰ Thanks for clarifying! πŸ˜›

        Liked by 2 people

  1. Omg yesss this post speaks to me because I’m sitting here right now with a cold *sigh*. I’ve heard of Eucalyptus oil but haven’t tried it, I’ve heard its a must but I think I’m still a littler uncertain on how to go about using it? SOS

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should give it a try. It will open your sinuses right away. do inhalations (add it to hot water and inhale, add it to your bath or tub even if you shower), add some drops to a towel/handkerchief and inhale it during the day. Make your own rub, add it to coconut oil for example.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

